Top Menu

About COSH

Chairman's Message

"Join us for a Smoke-free Hong Kong!"

In accordance with our long-held principle, Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (COSH) has been sparing no efforts in tobacco control to safeguard public health. Through multifarious education programmes, publicity events and research projects, COSH publicizes the hazards of tobacco, encourages smoking cessation and prevents smoking uptakes among children and the youth. COSH also proactively advocates the Government for strengthening the tobacco control measures to move towards the Tobacco Endgame goal.
 
We would like to express our deepest gratitude to the Government, public organizations, academic and education institutions, district and social welfare organizations, media and different stakeholders in the community for their unfailing support to COSH. We worked in joint hands and adopted a multi-pronged approach comprising of legislation, taxation, publicity, education, law enforcement and promotion of smoking cessation to contain the proliferation of tobacco use. It is encouraging to see that these measures have yielded positive results. Hong Kong’s smoking prevalence has dropped gradually from 23.3% since the Smoking (Public Health) Ordinance enacted in 1982 to 10.2% now and is among the lowest in the world.
 
COSH will continue to strengthen the education, publicity and research, increase health consciousness and public awareness on virus prevention, and also promote smoking cessation to fight against the Coronavirus Disease 2019 together. To accelerate smoking reduction, COSH urges the Government to develop blueprint and time schedule for Tobacco Endgame, also put forward comprehensive tobacco control measures including imposing a total ban on alternative smoking products, raising tobacco tax substantially, expanding the statutory no smoking areas, banning tobacco product display at points of sales, increasing resources on smoking cessation, education and promotion, enforcement and combatting illicit cigarette trade for a smoke-free Hong Kong.
 
Henry TONG, MH, JP
Chairman
Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health
 
 
 
 
 
Back to Top

主席歡迎辭

"Join us for a Smoke-free Hong Kong!"

香港吸煙與健康委員會一直秉承保障公眾健康的宗旨,在控煙路上不遺餘力,透過推動多元化的無煙教育、宣傳活動及研究項目,向公眾宣揚煙草禍害,鼓勵吸煙人士戒煙,以及防止兒童和青少年開始吸煙;同時亦積極向政府提供意見及倡議加強現行的控煙措施,致力邁向「全面禁煙」的目標。
 
委員會衷心感謝政府及社會各界,包括公共機構、學術及教育組織、地區組織、社福機構、傳播媒體以及社會不同的持分者,與委員會多年緊密合作,透過立法、徵稅、宣傳、教育、執行法例及推廣戒煙等多管齊下的方式抑制煙草的廣泛流行。本港吸煙率亦由1982年《吸煙(公共衞生)條例》開始實施的23.3%逐步下降至現時的10.2%,成為全球吸煙率最低的地區之一,可見多年的控煙工作具見成效,成果令人鼓舞。
 
委員會將繼往開來,積極加強教育、宣傳及研究工作,並提高市民的防疫意識及對健康的關注,推動更多吸煙人士戒煙,與市民攜手對抗2019冠狀病毒病疫情。我們期望政府儘快為「全面禁煙」訂下時間表及發展藍圖,透過推行全面的控煙措施,包括全禁另類吸煙產品、大幅增加煙草稅、擴大禁煙範圍、禁止陳列煙草產品、增撥資源加強戒煙服務、教育及宣傳推廣、執法及打擊私煙等,以加快減低吸煙人口,推動無煙香港。
 
香港吸煙與健康委員會主席
湯修齊MH太平紳士
 
 
 
 
回到最上